IMPORTANT DETAILS BELOW REGARDING LESSONS/CLASS VIRTUAL ONLINE CLASS OPTIONS!
IMPORTANT DETAILS BELOW REGARDING LESSONS/CLASS VIRTUAL ONLINE CLASS OPTIONS!
Learn the techniques you need to be a confident, safe driver.
NEW *PICK UP AND DROP OFF FROM DESIGNATED CHRISTO LOCATIONS ONLY*
Driving lessons should be by appointment only and only allow for one student and one instructor in the car at a time per guidelines set by RMV https://www.mass.gov/info-details/safety-standards-and-checklist-driving-and-flight-schools
"Current Massachusetts' law requires junior operators with a learner's permit to complete 12 hours of behind-the-wheel training, six hours observing another student driver, and 40 supervised driving hours with a parent, guardian, or individual who is over 21 years old and has held a valid license for more than one year.
The RMV understands how the six-hour observation requirement poses difficulty due to new regulations from the Phase 2 reopening guidance, and has worked closely with the governor's office to provide a more flexible solution.
Governor Baker has issued an Executive Order UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE that allows for 46 hours of supervised driving to be completed with a parent, guardian, or other individual over age 21 with a driver's license that has been valid for more than one year (please see affidavit below - must be completed and turned into Driving School). This minimizes the need for individuals from different households to spend additional time in a vehicle together, which is also discouraged under the Massachusetts’ Reopening Advisory Board’s Phase 2 guidance for driving schools."
We are taking all the necessary precautions to keep our students, instructors, and staff safe. Below you will find the protocols being put in place for the prevention of the spread of COVID-19 for our in car lessons.
We thank you for your patience and understanding during this difficult time. We are very excited to get back out on the road in a safe, preventative, and productive manner. We know our students are eager to resume their driving lessons in hopes of obtaining their driver's license as soon as possible (once all components have been completed).
Donna & Richard Christo (Owners)
A notice to families who traveled over Winter Break
This notice is to re-enforce the COVID-19 Travel Order as it pertains to your student's driving lesson(s).
Effective August 1, 2020, all visitors and returning residents entering Massachusetts must follow new travel orders. The Commonwealth has made great progress to slow the spread of COVID-19 and gradually re-open the economy, and all visitors have a responsibility to help us keep transmission levels as low as possible.
Since the update on February 12, 2021 the only ‘low risk’ states are Hawaii and North Dakota (map).
If you choose to travel outside of Massachusetts, or plan to be a host to family/friends that live outside of Massachusetts, please know the following:
If you travel outside of Massachusetts, you will need to quarantine for 10 days upon your return or produce a negative COVID-19 test result that has been administered up to 72-hours prior to your arrival in Massachusetts. Do not send your student on their driving lesson(s) if you have not followed this protocol.
You do not need to quarantine for 10 days if you took a test for COVID-19 and have received a negative result. The specimen for the test must have been collected no longer than 72 hours before your return to Massachusetts, and the testing must be by a method approved by the Massachusetts Department of Public Health. Upon request, you must be able to demonstrate proof of the negative test result.
If you took a test prior to your return but have not received your negative result, you MUST quarantine until you receive the negative result. You may obtain a test at your own expense after your return to Massachusetts, but you MUST quarantine until you obtain a negative result. Use the COVID-19 testing map to find a site near you.
We acknowledge the concerns & questions families and students have regarding the coronavirus and how it can impact schools.
We are providing some details below from the CDC regarding safety precautions and other information you may find helpful.
The Center for Disease Control and the Massachusetts Department of Health are providing updates on a daily basis to stay informed.
Please use these links to keep up to date:
As with other seasonal flu, there are several precautions we can all take to remain as healthy as possible. The school department has implemented additional cleaning and sanitizing at all schools. We ask you to please:
• Practice good hand hygiene. Wash your hands often and thoroughly with soap and water for at least 20 seconds. Avoid touching your eyes, nose, and mouth with unwashed hands. Use Alcohol-based hand sanitizer when soap and water are not available.
• When coughing and sneezing, cover your mouth and nose with a tissue. You can also cough or sneeze into your sleeve. Throw used tissues in the trash and immediately wash your hands with soap and water for at least 20 seconds.
• Cover your mouth and nose with a cloth face cover when around others.
• Avoid sharing drinking glasses, cups, eating utensils, dishes, towels or other items. Wash these items thoroughly with soap and water after use.
• Avoid close contact with people who are sick whenever possible.
• Practice other good health habits: Clean and disinfect frequently touched surfaces at home, work or school, especially when someone is ill. Get plenty of sleep, be physically active, manage your stress, drink plenty of fluids, and eat nutritious food.
Stay safe and protected!
At Christo Driving School, Inc., we have been focused on developing safe, responsible drivers for over 70 years. Our outstanding success record has made us the educator of choice in the metro-west area. Through our unmatched curriculum of classroom lectures and on-road training, we ensure our students possess the proper skills and abilities to make safe driving decisions and to continue to practice responsible driving habits throughout their driving careers. Our instructors constantly challenge our students throughout their training with distractions, defensive situations, and common-sense conditioning, and they do so in a fun, encouraging environment that students enjoy and respond well to. We care about the way our students drive, and we're sure the drivers we put on the road are the safest, most reliable drivers they can be.
We realize the demands driving school puts on the already hectic schedules of students and parents, so we make every effort to accommodate our customers through flexible class schedules and convenient locations, as well as offering group driving lessons and private lessons in our fleet of current model pre-approved vehicles. It is recommended that you call the Main Office to arrange your 12 driving lessons/observation times as soon as you get your learner's permit (Please note effective May 1st, 2019 the 2 hour Parent Class must be completed in order to begin the on the road training/observation). This will avoid a delay in scheduling your license exam at the completion of the program.
We make road tests easy by arranging the RMV examiners to meet at our Northboro location to administer the tests.
Classes are available for students of all ages, and we gladly offer our services and vehicles
to non-students for road testing with the Registry of Motor Vehicles.
Christo Driving School is offering an Attitudinal Retraining Course.
This is a 2-4 hour program focused on teaching young drivers to be cautious and responsible while driving.
Topics covered include:
Students who complete the course will have a better understanding of the responsibilities of being a safe and courteous driver.
Please contact the office at 508-481-6384 for more information.
We are offering private driving lessons for senior drivers and will sponsor for any evaluation test the RMV may require.
NEW MASSACHUSETTS DISTRACTED DRIVING LAW:
Massachusetts has passed a new law banning the use of handheld electronic devices while driving, barring looking at text, videos or images while driving. Drivers may continue to use electronics in “hands-free” mode. The law goes into effect on February 23, 2020, with a grace period for violations until March 31, 2020. Penalties will be a $100 fine for a first offense, $250 fine for a second offense and a $500 fine for subsequent offenses (View on RMV Webpage).
**New Massachusetts requirements, on March 26, 2018, to get or renew any driver's license, ID card, or learner's permit, you need documentation showing U.S. citizenship or lawful presence as required by federal and state law (View on RMV Webpage).**
The RMV and your professional driving school want to ensure students receive the full benefit of their educational experience. The RMV is changing its policy on the timing of your participation in the Parent Education class. It is expected that parents will attend a Parent Education early in the student’s education process. *Students will not be allowed to start on road training and/or observations until this class has been completed effective May 1st, 2019.*
Next Attitudinal Class: April 5th, 2021